top of page

West Des Moines named a Thriving Community

The Iowa Finance Authority and Iowa Economic Development Authority have announced that West Des Moines, Iowa, is one of 11 cities to receive a new Thriving Communities designation recognizing the city's strong efforts to meet its workforce housing needs for households of all income levels.

According to an announcement by the agencies August 14:

Dozens of Iowa communities completed an intensive application process to be designated as an Iowa Thriving Community and 11 have been awarded the prestigious designation. Iowa Thriving Communities will serve as models for other communities on both a statewide and national level in attracting housing development for all income levels.

One of the benefits West Des Moines will receive for having earned the designation are additional points for Low Income Housing Tax Credit and Workforce Housing Tax Credit applications in the coming year.

Other communities receiving the designation were Cedar Rapids, Charles City, Creston, Dubuque, Jefferson, Knoxville, Manning, Muscatine, Oskaloosa, Stanton, and West Des Moines. More information about Thriving Communities including how applications were scored can be found here.


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page